WnSoft Forums

Any way to read input from a text file?

deia

Just found the program and it rocks- absolutely love it. Being the lazy sort that I am, I'd like to find a way to automate the process of image selection for my clients. Is there any easy way to let the client click a button/link and capture a list of images from the slideshow to purchase?

I can't be sure that they'll be online, so anything like a button action that opens my web page won't cover all the bases. Even something "klugey" like dumping the file name to a text file that they have to send to me would be fine. It's not too much effort to write down a file name, but others are lazy too and the easier it is to order, the more they do. I usually send out hundreds of proofs per slideshow. I have some programming experience, but am not a Windows programmer (Oracle, some PHP, Perl...).

Any ideas on this one would be most welcome.

-d

Your question raises another one, deia. One thing that has given me problems with this sort of task is that I can't figure out any valid parameter passing syntax to put in an object editor action for "Run application or open file". Does anyone at Wnsoft or the forum know of a valid syntax for parameters after the application name in clickable object "open" actions?

If you could pass parameters in "open" actions you could use an external utility to build your photo list, where there is a button in each picture that has a unique parameter, the picture name:

Run app or open file action defined as "Buildlist.exe photo1234"

In the example, "buildlist.exe" is a utility that you place in the same folder as the show. It creates and appends to a listing file somewhere. This idea may lead to a solution if parameters can be passed.

Igor - is there a way? Thanks!

well you can open the pte file with a text editor and copy the picture names out -- then put them on the cd as a text file or send it to them

or

project options/comments/