WnSoft Forums

Sync slides to music

Chumba

Hello everybody! I am new to the forum - what a revelation! much good info to be had here. So maybe you can help with a prob I am having.....

I am a composer, and I was asked to write some music to accompany a pte project. The pte project uses many fast slides to fake animation etc. The problem I have is that if I compose a piece on my setup, timed to perfection to hit certain slides, when this is played on other sytems there can be a difference of up to 5 secs, behind or in front!

I have optimised picture sizes - 682x512, jpegs well squashed!, and this lessens the problem, but it is by no means perfect. Is there a way around this? Or am I demanding too much of this program? I want to be able to use the menu sytems and navigation bar aswell.

HELP!! :o

Look forward to the replies :)

Mark

Hi, Mark,

Welcome to the Forum!

You didn't say whether you are synchronizing the show to the music using the timeline in Project Options / Custom Synchronization. If you use this to synchronize the show, it should keep it's timing pretty closely in other systems, except maybe some of the older, slower ones where you will probably have other problems as well (flickering images, glitches in the sound playback, etc.)

In order to achieve fast sequences, you will find that "quick fades" or "cuts" will work better than longer dissolves.

If you synchronize, you won't be able to use the nav bar, but Admin are working on this for future PTE versions.

thanks for the reply! Have just found the timeline - does this work differently to setting up individual times for slides? I assumed the program would "count" the same way whether using individual timings or the timeline? Does the timeline fix the slide in time, whereas the other way the timings are relative to the previous slide eg first one opens late, all following slides will be at least that late in opening?