WnSoft Forums

Website statistics

Ian

Someone was asking the other day about adding a 'hit-counter' to a website.

I've been using the free service provided by Sitemeter for many years, but today I was pleasantly surprised to see that they have upgraded their service, and can now track visits by location and even display maps of where the user is situated!

I've added some demonstration images and links to my camera club site - see WCC Website Stats

There are two links to the new features beneath the graphs.

Sitemeter is available from www.sitemeter.com and the basic package is completely free. Sometimes there's a bit of a lag in updating the stats, but otherwise its great!

Ian

Hi Ian,

I was the guy asking about Web Site Counters. I did download (and install) one from another site but since reading your post about 'Site Meter' I have deleted that one and installed the free version that you have talked about. I must agree with you that this counter is good, since it not only counts the number of visitors but gives other statistics as well.

I like it! I will check it again tomorrow and see if it is working correctly - I have visited my own site 5 times since installing, but the counter has not yet incremented - guess I must wait for someone else to visit to check!

Thanks for the link.

Ron West

I've been using Sitemeter since the end of 2003 and I'm very happy with it as it is very reliable and offers many 'tracking' options. One feature which I find very nice is the possibility of not counting one's own visits because this artificially increases the number of so-called visitors to one's own website.

Thanks to Ian's post (hello Ian!), I've discovered the new 'location tracking' option.

guess I must wait for someone else to visit to check!