WnSoft Forums

quirk with file name

JRR

I discovered a quirk this afternoon when I created a autorun CD with the PTE .exe file named:

"ftpgsfront.ex"

(if you must know: short for "family tree pages front page" - a "front page" exe file from which three PTE shows run)

When the autorun kicked in, Internet Explorer started dialing my ISP. Seems it thought it had a "ftp" request. (File Transfer Protocol)

Not sure it was my computer or WinME or any Win OS.

Just thought I would pass it aloong in case someone else happens to name a file starting with the same three letters.

That's a good one Jim! Software certainly does quirky things at times. I tried to get my Win98SE system to do the same just now, but it didn't start the Internet connection. I've been using DSL for 2 years but disconnected it and enabled "Dialup when no network connection is present" as I used in the past. I confirmed that starting Internet Explorer 6 caused immediate dialup attempt, but the Autorun CD testing wouldn't do the same.

I tried "ftpgsfront.ex" - this ran properly under Autorun with .exe named this way & in Autorun.inf (no dialup)

I tried "ftpgsfront.exe" - this ran properly under Autorun with .exe named this way & in Autorun.inf (no dialup)