WnSoft Forums

slideshow skips with music added

Help! I'm a professional photographer, and sell a cd with slideshow of images with music--weddings, engagement sessions, etc. Sometimes I've had good results--so I do know how to use the program. However, frequently, I will create a slideshow of, say 150 images, and it will run just fine until I add music, and then the show will "skip, or repeat the music" and the slide will hesitate or "jump" also. I am using MP3 files that are stored on my hardrive, and syncing the music to slides. Usually, I would add about 3 songs to a show of 150-200 images. Any ideas out there about what could cause this? Thanks very much in advance.

Connie McDearmid

Hello Connie - The two most common causes of skipping are oversized images and corrupt JPEG or music files.

I thought your name was familiar (it turns out to be from the autorun post). Welcome to the forum!

You've provided good info about the show, but not about your image files. An image file with unnecessarily high resolution can exceed machine speeds and cause show to skip. What pixel resolution are you using? If you want the most widespread compatibility, then 800x600 JPEG is a good choice. If you want better resolution then 1024x768 is preferable. But as you use any higher resolution than this you start to load down slower PCs enough to make them fade pictures poorly or skip the music. Having both music and pictures running requires more of the machine, so that is a consideration in the tradeoff.

Photoshop or other batch processing makes easy work of resizing.