WnSoft Forums

DVD show has blackborders on 4:3 TV

cjdnzl

Just burned my first DVD, and very pleased with result, except that the screen image is smaller than the TV screen, with about a 2-inch black border all round the image.

I looked at whether I could increase the image size, but it seems to be fixed at 576x400-something pixels, and I can't see a way to increase the size.

The show was saved to an ISO file and then burned to disk with ImgBurn. Any help would be appreciated.

Colin

try changing aspect ratio on dvd player

is nz pal or ntsc

were you set on the right one in vb

according to

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTSC

nz is pal

according to my data pal is 768/576

try making the dvd folders option - and let vb do it's thing and see what happens

ken

Thanks for the reply Ken, to answer your queries: NZ is PAL, and I used to be a TV tech in a past life, so no problems there. VB states that PAL is 720x576, and it appears to be fixed in VB, as I could not seem alter it.

I notice that the intro screen before you click or press 'play' is full screen on the TV - actually the intro title is a bit wide, and the last character is cut in half, but as soon as the show starts, the slides are smaller than the screen, and this is so on two different DVD players and TVs.

Has anyone else seen this, and what was the answer?

Colin

Colin,

VB states that PAL is 720x576, and it appears to be fixed in VB, as I could not seem alter it.

PAL DV & D1 4:3 - 720x576 is the Industry Standard -Video Frame Size. (non-square pixel size)

What size are your actual image files ?

Try sizing your images for PAL at 768x576 for 4:3 or 1024x576 for 16:9 (square pixel size)

Read this link :

Optimum File Size for DVD - WnSoft Forums

http://www.picturestoexe.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=6965

Colin,

PAL DV & D1 4:3 - 720x576 is the Industry Standard -Video Frame Size. (non-square pixel size)

What size are your actual image files ?