WnSoft Forums

Are MIDIs Copyrighted?

quietstorm

Hello..

I am not trying to stir up a hornets nest but I found this!

Web Site

MIDI Copyright FAQ

Copyright and music license laws apply to MIDI music just as they do to recordings and radio air-play. The following general information is based on my knowledge and understanding, however I am not a lawyer and make no claim as to its accuracy. If you plan on using music in any commercial enterprise please consult a lawyer experienced in the entertainment industry.

Commercial MIDI tracks

Commercial MIDI production firms do not allow their songs to be played over the internet, and will often sue web sites who post their sequences. Damages for using commercial MIDI music without permission can run as high as $100,000 per song, so get permission from the sequencer.

How do I file?

If you're a composer or performer in the US visit the official US Copyright Office for forms, instructions and general information about the copyright process.

What is a music copyright?

Music copyrights can be broken down into two main categories: the rights of the composer and the rights of the recording artist, or performer. Composers earn royalties when a song is played; composers and performers both earn royalites when a recording is sold. These rights are generally enforced by music publishers for the composer and by record companies for the performer.

Who controls Performer's rights?

Some MIDI songs have the sequencer's name embedded in them, and in other cases the performer is unknown. Many musicians who record MIDI songs provide free performance licenses, subject only to the condition that their music not be sold. MIDI DataBase has licenses and copyright assignment contracts for our music, but we cannot grant permission for others to copy or use these songs publicly.

Who controls Composers rights?