WnSoft Forums

Offer slide show for download on site?

DustyDesert

I'm just learning all this web design stuff. I just learned how to re-design and update my site so I can maintain it myself. I have a demo slide show set to music and I'd like to offer it as a download from my site. How in the world do I do it? My show is 4.4 MB as an EXE file. I don't have any fancy WYSIWYG program, just plain old HTML written by hand.

Thanks,

~Cindy

Welcome Cindy,

First, zip your exe.

Then upload it to your server same way you upload HTML files.

(if you have one of those free web sites maybe you can't - I don't know)

On your web page write:

<A HREF="MyShow.zip">Download My Show</A>

Also you can upload your show to beechbrook.com from where people can download your show.

Hi, Cindy,

I use WsFTP95-LE (a free download) to transfer files to and from the web-page server. It is designed for use in Win 9x operating systems, but I find it works well under XP too. However, as Boxig says, some of the free public sites may not allow FTP transfer, but it is so handy once you get it set up that it is worth a try. You may find it useful in uploading all your .htm and .html files when doing updates to your site if you don't use it already and your server allows it.

It is available at WS FTP95-LE,

or WS FTP95-LE (2) .

Here are some links to sites which provide info on how to use it:

Site 1,

Site 2,

Site 3.

Thanks for the help! I did upload it to my site but I didn't zip it first. What's the reason for zipping? I've never zipped, only un-zipped and not always successfully. ANYhow, I have been using the ftp program you mentioned to upload my site so far and it worked for this, also. Great program!

So, how do I upload to Beechbrook? I didn't find where to do that on the link you left.