WnSoft Forums

Do music files have to be saved as MP3?

CharlieMcD

I have tried a desk top at work and my laptop and, although I have no problem hearing the background music on the desk top at home where I create the slide shows, I cannot hear it on the other computers. And yes the slide show runs on the other computers and yes I did check to make sure the volume was up and that speakers were on. Do I have to record the music from CDs onto my computer as an MP3 file? I just used whatever program that Windows defaults to in order to copy the music from a music CD onto my hard drive. It automatically copied a song into My Music and that is the song that I used as background music in my slide show. It plays great on the original computer where the slide show was created. Is there another way that I should be saving the music I want to use in slide shows?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Charlie

Charlie:

Welcome to PTE, I hope you enjoy it as much as we all do.

MP3 is the preferred format for PTE as it is much more compact than a .wav file.

I suspect windows saved it for you as a .wav file.

There are many ways to convert a .wav file to a MP3.

Boxig just recently prepared a uitlity to do that.

See posting at: http://www.picturestoexe.com/forums//index...ct=ST&f=2&t=659

Or you can use Acoustica, Cool Edit (or dbPowerAmp which is free at http://www.dbpoweramp.com/ .)

Acoutisca and Cool Edit can be easily found via a search on Google, both have been mentioned many times in past posts.

The other problem could be that I know there has been some mention that newer versions of Windows may allow you to copy music to your hard drive and used on your computer, but will not allow it to be exported to other computers.

Using the other software to copy the music might solve your problems

I am sure others will come along shortly and add to my answer.

Good luck