WnSoft Forums

Vista Issues

hf773

Please forgive me if this issue has arisen before but I'm a newbie on this forum and cannot find it by search.

I have been told that P2Exe has problems running on Vista? Is this correct or am I being led up a blind alley?

The reason I ask is that my 'C' drive needs replacing with a much larger one and it would make sense to go to Vista (if I need to) at the same time.

I would appreciate comments.

...The reason I ask is that my 'C' drive needs replacing with a much larger one and it would make sense to go to Vista (if I need to) at the same time....

This question rather depends on your system resources that on PTE, Vista seems to need more memory etc.

Best regards,

Xaver H.

Munich

Hi hfimages,

I'm assuming that you are using PTE v5 of some flavour. If not please post again giving the version of PTE that you currently use.

Windows Vista is a "memory hungry" operating system. Whilst it will run PTE v5 sequences on a PC with 1GB of RAM, it runs better with 2GB or more. Bear in mind that the smooth running of PTE v5 sequences that make use of Pan/Zoom/Rotate animations is dependent on the graphics card or graphics chipset. You talk about upgrading because your hard-drive is full. This suggests that the PC itself may be at the older end of the age range. So the suitability of the graphics card may be a concern.

Do your existing sequences make use of Pan/Zoom/Rotate?

Do your existing sequences play OK on your existing system?

If the answer to both questions is Yes, then upgrading to Vista should be OK provided you also add extra RAM - to at least 1GB and preferably 2GB or more.

If the answer to the first question is No then you should think about downloading some sequences with complex animations (e.g. from Lin Evans's web sites: http://www.lin-evans.net/ and/or http://www.learntomakeslideshows.net/) and get your system checked out for suitability. You may find that you need to upgrade the graphics.