WnSoft Forums

VOICE-OVER MICROPHONE/PRE AMP

paulziets

I have been dabbling with AV for several years, in particular to make presentations to my local photographic society (which I do about once a year). For each presentation I have tended to make several short productions, each of them with a music only background track. After hearing a talk by Howard Gregory and Suzanne Walker of the Wilmslow Guild AV Group recently, I have decided to take the plunge and get serious about my AV work.

I had started out using PTE, migrated to ProShow Gold and then ProShow Producer, but on advice from the Wilmslow Guild AV Group have come back to PTE. I am using version 6.5 and am certainly pleased that I have made the moved back.

My next step is to look at getting the audio side of things right. I have Cool Edit Pro 2 for audio software, also using Audacity to convert some of my music files to MP3 when Cool Edit can't read some of my music collection. I will sooner than later have to do voice-over work but do not possess a microphone. Could I get some feedback on which microphone and pre amplifier the members of this forum would recommend? Some internet research has got me thinking of a Rode M3 or an AKG1000 condensor microphone and with pre-amps, the Behringer MIC800 or Art Tube MP Original. I am not in a manic rush to buy the equipment, it has to be fit for purpose and made to last. Of course, if I win the Euro Millions tonight, I may ignore the last sentence!

Paul Zietsman

Guest Yachtsman1

Hi Paul

You might want to take a look at this post

I have had my Olympus two years now & I still believe it produces better sound recordings than anything else in it's price range. It has probably been superceeded by now with a newer model.

Yachtsman1