WnSoft Forums

2 new shows and timing

Lloegyr

I have for the past few weeks been working on a show and it seems appropriate to give some background because it is all about timing.

The show like my Fields of Fire is in fact quite old, but the discovery of PTE has started me going all over again. (There will be a new show about Prague after I go in May)

I started programming the show on PTE V3.8 on a P4, 1.7, then more and more betas starting arriving. I did not want to confuse matters so I installed V4 beta 5 on a different machine, a PII, 333 Celeron, and continued the programming on that machine. Programming turned out to be far easier than before, due to two factors, 1 preview from any point, and 2 being able to zoom in on the timeline (excellent upgrades). When finished and the show was in perfect synch I was very pleased until I played it back on the first P4 machine, it was 1.1 seconds adrift. I then tried it out on another machine, a PII, 333 normal Intel, it was also 1.1 seconds out. I took the easy way out and added the 1.1 secs on the celeron machine which then meant that that machine was out, but both the others were spot on. I then started to experiment.

I then redid the show on the normal 333 Intel machine, and it then plays ok on all 3 machines. The only difference between the 2 slower machines being that one is a celeron and thus has less cache memory, CPU speed is the same and so is RAM. (any thoughts on this aspect?)

I would be interested to hear if the show runs correctly on other machines, the ending will give it away if its out.

The 2 shows are slightly different in length and have different synch problems, also the French soundtrack was originally 19 seconds longer, I cut 6 seconds from the introduction only then changed the speed by 5% without changing the pitch (Cool Edit 2000) to give me a similar time to work with.