WnSoft Forums

Hide object before the first keyframe ?

Pieter

Hello,

I'm a newbie to this forum and orienting myself on a switch from Proshow Producer 9 to PicturesToExe 9.

I have already been able to find most functionality of PS9 in PTE (and much more). 

But  there is a functionality that I have not yet been able to find in PTE9: the possibility to hide objects before the first keyframe and after the last keyframe.

Or do I have to use 2 keyframes to do that (one with 0% opacity and one with 100% opacity close to each other) ?

Thanks in advance for your reply.

Pieter

Tom, 

There are a number of potential reasons. Let me give you an example. Let's say you want to create an animation where an object rotates around the screen in a perfect circle. Let's just use a png object with transparency for an example. So you want this object to rotate clockwise beginning at the 12 o'clock position and traveling through a complete 360 degrees or some multiple thereof. BUT - when the object rotates, you want it to remain in the same relative position for the entire rotation(s). When an object is rotated like this, it requires moving its "center" to the dead center of the screen and placing the object in the 12:00 o'clock position to start. The problem then becomes how to keep it in the same relative viewing position because as it is rotated around the 360 circle, it will naturally change so that when at the 180 degree position it will be upside down.  To solve this issue, you create an identical "child" object which will inherit the 360 degree rotation from the parent, but to keep it in the upright viewing position you must leave the child's center as it was originally and set that rotation to negative 360 degrees for each cycle of rotation. You do not want the parent to be visible so you set its opacity to zero leaving the child's opacity at 100%.