WnSoft Forums

Video Cards

nickles

Hello Everyone:

I'm probably a bloomin' idiot for starting this thread...but I guess I'll show how dumb I really am. Hopefully if I drum up any responses...maybe I'll learn something.

My main question concerns Video Cards...but first...

I've been creating slideshows for several years. I'm not a professional photographer but enjoy the sport. My customers are my friends and relatives. I've been fortunate and can normally afford to keep up with the computer technology. Most of my customers aren't as fortunate. Walmart has a computer on sale...they rush out and buy it...and probably on credit. It has 512mb of memory, XP Home Edition and a onboard Video Processor with shared memory. In the past, just about any old computer they happened to have managed to play my slideshows. They're only problem was if they got busy clicking buttons they might have the same slideshow playing simultaeously but out of sync.

PTE 5 has so much potenial...how do I make proper decisons on my slideshow designs to feel confident that it will play on my customers computers. I can't call them and ask them "what kind of video card do you have?". They wouldn't have a clue or know how to find out. I would like to be able to use some of PTE 5 capabilities but not sure how to constrain my design such as image size?, number of simultaneously objects?, speed of objects?, transition effects?, etc......Is it best to use only PTE 5 for people I know have powerful hardware?

Hmm...Powerful Hardware...not sure I know what that means...I've got a laptop that runs fast to me...it has a duo-core Intel something or other...2GB of Ram...120GB HD...Radeon Express 128mb that will hyper-thread another 340mb something of ram...is that fast...I guess...or it was last month.

What I think I may be after in this thread is an explaination of video cards...what's fast...what do the buzz words all mean?